SAP BI Version Management Options
In this article, we give you an overview of "Why" and "How" to use Version Management for SAP Lumira!
SAP BI Version Management Options
SAP Lumira Version Management
As it is a visualization tool, the need for version management is very critical. A day-long work might get discarded because the result was not as expected, or the previous version was better looking than the newer version. Reverting to older versions manually is a difficult process as changes have to be done in many places like CSS, Scripts, Initial views, etc.…
SAP Lumira documents can be stored to SAP BI repository like any other object in the system. They have Lumx extension and they are typed as “Lumx Document”.
Overview of Terminologies and Options
Central Management Console (CMS) Version
CMS version of the report is the currently active version in the CMS DB / SAP BI repository. When a developer saves the report, CMS version will be generated. In other words, when a user executes the report in Launchpad CMS version will be executed. There will be only one copy of a particular object in CMS and it is called a CMS version. When a developer saves his changes on an existing report that is added to VMS, the current CMS version will be over-written with the new version and version number will be incremented by 1.
Version Management System (VMS) Version
VMS version of the report is the version that is the last checked-in to the version management system. When a new report is added to Version Management System (VMS), it is considered as first check-in and VMS Version 1 and any further check-in will increment VMS version by 1. Unlike CMS, VMS can store multiple versions of the report and this helps us to revert to an earlier version when needed.
Check-in is the process of saving the current CMS version as a copy into the VMS. When a change is saved in the CMS, CMS version of the object will be updated. However, VMS version will not change. Performing a check-in will save the current CMS version as the new VMS version. However, version management will retain copies of old VMS versions.
Get Latest Version
This option performs the reverse of check-in. When Get latest version is executed, the latest copy of the VMS version will be used to overwrite the current CMS version. In other words, all changes made to the report will be lost and it will be replaced with the last stable version stored on the VMS.
Create a Copy
Create copy is more like “Branching” done in software development. When creating a copy is performed, another copy of the report is created from the latest VMS version. However, when creating a copy, CMS version number and VMS version numbers won’t be updated in the VMS. The newly created report will not be part of the VMS and “Add to VM” should be performed separately to manage versions of the copied report.
Lock and Unlock helps admins/developers to prevent unwanted check-in to the VMS system. When an object is locked, new check-in or Copy cannot be done. Unlock will enable check-in/ copy options.
Delete option will remove the report from VMS. CMS version of the report will remain in SAP BI repository and that will not be removed. Removing the object from VMS will remove all VMS versions and CMS version will be retained. Object removed from VMS can be added to VMS again using “Add to VM (Version management)” option.
Let’s see the VMS basic workflow: